ICC World T20 Cup 2014 Final Live on Star Sports

Here we are! Here comes the big one! The final of ICC World T20 cup 2014. After a long exciting tournament which was full of uncertainties and high quality cricket, now we are down the wire for the grand final. Indian fans can again enjoy the live streaming and TV telecast on Star Sports.

This time instead of previewing the two teams, we would just go down the memory lane and revisit the earlier finals of all the T20 World Cup editions. Let us go for it! Join us down the memory lane.

2007 T20 World Cup final
Hosted by South Africa, the inaugural T20 World Cup turned out to be a huge success. The cricket fans wholeheartedly accepted this shortened format of their favourite game. Cricket was never so colourful. India played the arch rivals Pakistan in the finals at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. 

India batted first and scored a decent 157 runs. This score looked small when Misbah was going great. But one glitch in the end by Misbah when he handed over a lollipop catch to Sreesanth, costed Pakistan the cup. India won it by 5 runs and that started the Dhoni era for Indian cricket.

2009 T20 World Cup final
This final was played at the home ground of cricket viz. the Lord's in London. Again two Asian teams reached the finals with Pakistan being lucky enough to qualify for the second consecutive time. They faced Sri Lanka.

Batting first Sri Lanka scored 138 runs only. In return, Pakistan didn't do any mistake this time. They chased the target comfortably with 8 balls to spare and at a loss of just two wickets.

2010 T20 World Cup final
50 over world cup was planned to be playe din 2011. So the T20 world cup was preponed and played in 2010. West Indies hosted this colourful event this time. England faced Australia in the final match.

Batting first Australia could score just 147 runs. England made it look very easy by chasing the total in 17 overs. That was England's first ever ICC event title which blowed new life into the English cricket.

2012 T20 World Cup final
2009 runner ups Sri Lanka hosted this edition of T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka played well to qualify for the finals in front of their home crowd. They faced the hard hitting T20 West Indies team at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

West Indies scored 130 plus and it seemed Sri Lanka would chase it easily. But some spirited bowling from West Indies resulted in a dismal batting by Sri Lanka. They were bowled out for just 101 runs. West Indies lifted the trophy.

Hope you all enjoyed this short yet sweet stroll down the memory lane of the T20 World Cup finals.

Who will win the T20 world cup 2014 is a big question! We would prefer to enjoy quality cricket and let the best team win. Your thoughts?

No comments:

Post a Comment